An open letter to I Hate Everything

The original video: (contains some NSFW language, not very much though)

Alex —

I can’t say I’m the biggest fan of your content (you’ve got some fun videos here and there), but I watched your latest video “I Hate Anxiety (and Stalkers)” and by the time it was finished, my jaw was figuratively on the carpet. I’m not kidding when I say that your making this video has completely changed the way I view you. It’s not all that often we get to see the pure humanity of our favourite content creators, when they don’t feel like they have to put on any kind of act for their audience, and I give you major props for showing your scars the way you have. For all that your channel might be based around hating things, you really seem to have a heart for your fans and for other people who’ve been through what you have. But enough of the drama queening – let’s get to the real meat of the issue.

In the video, you mention that you feel under pressure to produce content regularly for your fans, which has contributed to your problems. Well, I personally wouldn’t mind if you never made another video, now that I know what you’ve been through. On the other hand, if it is something you enjoy doing, then I would encourage you to keep at it. Just don’t feel like you have to placate anyone by doing it.

We are here for you, we are here to support you and love you. We don’t expect you to come out with a video every single week, let alone want you to if it means you’ll wear yourself out. Your wellbeing is infinitely more important to us than the content you create. And this extends beyond just your fans – your friends, family, doctors and anyone else who’s seen your video or is reading this letter can surely agree. If what you said in the video is true (and I’m sure it is), your anxiety is a serious problem that’s holding you back, and it ought to be dealt with. I’m thankful that you recognised something was off, that you’re already starting to get help and that you’ve tried to spread awareness.

I know I’m just a teenager whose work is never read by many people, and whose view of the world is probably quite different from yours even if we leave anxiety out of the picture. All the same, I’ve tried to articulate my thoughts on this as best I can, and in the event that you should see this, I hope it speaks to you in some way.

Nat

Leave a Reply

